Who is qualifying for the Indy 500?

Indy 500 qualifying results, starting lineup

Who is qualifying for the Indy 500?

Indy 500 qualifying results, starting lineup

Pos. Car No. Driver
1 9 Scott Dixon
2 10 Alex Palou
3 21 Rinus VeeKay
4 33 Ed Carpenter

What is the fastest qualifying lap at the Indy 500?

Fastest qualifying speed: Dixon set the fastest pole speed in Indy 500 history last Sunday, passing the late Scott Brayton with an average four-lap speed of 234.046 mph.

Was 2021 Indy 500 fastest ever?

2021: Helio Castroneves, 190.690 mph, 2 hours, 37 minutes, 19 seconds. There were just two caution periods for 18 laps, and the last 76 laps were run under green. Castroneves beat Alex Palou over the Yard of Bricks by about one-half second to earn his record-tying fourth Indy 500 win.

Who won the Indy 500 in 2015?

Juan Pablo Montoya
2015 Indianapolis 500

Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Indianapolis 500
Winner Juan Pablo Montoya
Winning team Team Penske
Average speed 161.341 mph (259.653 km/h)

How many Indy 500 qualifiers are there?

A Last Chance Qualifying session for spots 31-33 is scheduled from 2-3 p.m. (ET) Sunday, May 22 if there are more than 33 entries competing for a spot in the world’s most prestigious auto race. Each entry is guaranteed one attempt and can make multiple attempts until time expires.

What’s the starting lineup for the Indy 500?

Indianapolis 500 starting lineup

  • Scott Dixon, No. 9 Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara-Honda.
  • Alex Palou, No. 10 Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara-Honda.
  • Rinus VeeKay, No. 21 Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara-Chevrolet.
  • Ed Carpenter, No.
  • Marcus Ericsson, No.
  • Tony Kanaan, No.
  • Pato O’Ward, No.
  • Felix Rosenqvist, No.

What is the fastest IndyCar speed?

236 mph
The fastest recorded speed in an IndyCar competition stands at 236 mph. It lags a little bit in acceleration, needing up to three seconds to reach speeds of 90 kph (56.25 mph) on a straight track.

Has anyone won Indy 5 times?

Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991)

How fast can an Indy 500 car go?

At the Indy 500, cars can exceed 240 mph entering Turn 1 or Turn 3. Because the race is on an oval, there is more sustained speed, especially on the ⅝-mile straightaways. Scott Dixon won the pole position with a four-lap qualifying run averaging 234.046 mph. NASCAR Cup cars can top 220 mph on a straightaway.

Who won the Indianapolis 500 in 2014?

Ryan Hunter-Reay2014 Indianapolis 500 / Winner

Who won the Indy 500 in 2013?

Tony Kanaan2013 Indianapolis 500 / Winner

Who didnt qualify for Indy 500?

Indy 500 Qualifying: Takuma Sato’s run disallowed, Andretti experiencing engine woes. UPDATE: Following review by race stewards, Takuma Sato’s initial speed of 232.196 mph during Indianapolis 500 qualifying was disallowed for impeding Marco Andretti’s qualifying lap.

Who is the best Indy 500 driver?

Let’s check out the nine best of all time.

  • Rick Mears.
  • Al Unser.
  • Helio Castroneves.
  • Bobby Unser.
  • Wilbur Shaw.
  • Bill Vukovich.
  • Mario Andretti.
  • Johnny Rutherford. Johnny Rutherford was a non-factor early in his career in the Indy 500.

Did Jimmie Johnson qualify for the Indianapolis 500?

Indy 500 qualifying: Jimmie Johnson on his massive save at 230 mph.

How much does an IndyCar cost?

IndyCar is not as expensive as Formula 1, but it is still in the millions of dollars each year to run a team. The car costs around $2-3 million, and the drivers themselves may demand a salary of this or more.

Who is the oldest Indy 500 winner?

Al Unser Sr.
ESPN Classic – Al Unser Sr. is oldest Indy 500 winner. May 24, 1987 – Al Unser Sr., behind the wheel of a year-old car he had to beg to drive, won his fourth Indy 500, tying A.J. Foyt’s record. At 47, Unser was the oldest to win the race.

Who has the most IndyCar wins of all time?

IndyCar: Drivers with the most wins all time

  • A.J. Foyt — 67 total wins (all in USAC).
  • Mario Andretti — 52 total wins (33 in USAC, 19 in CART)
  • Scott Dixon — 51 total wins through May 1, 2021 (1 in CART, 50 in IndyCar)

Is Formula 1 or IndyCar faster?

F1 cars are built for speed through corners and turns, and can accelerate faster than IndyCar vehicles. IndyCar, though, may have the higher top speed. The top speed record in a Formula 1 race is 231.4 mph, set by Valtteri Bottas in 2016.