What is the 18th level of hell?

Eighteen levels of Hell

What is the 18th level of hell?

Eighteen levels of Hell

# Version 1 As mentioned in Journey to the West
15 Hell of Dismemberment 磔刑地獄 Hell of Darkness 黑暗獄
16 Hell of the Mountain of Fire 火山地獄 Hell of the Mountain of Knives 刀山獄
17 Hell of Mills 石磨地獄 Avīci Hell 阿鼻獄
18 Hell of Sawing 刀鋸地獄 Hell of Weighing Scales 秤桿獄

How many floors of hell are there?

We offer this short guide to the nine circles of Hell, as described in Dante’s Inferno. The first circle is home to the unbaptized and virtuous pagans.

What happens in Avici hell?

Avici Hell, (無間地獄, Abijigoku) or Avichi Hell, is the lowest level and the deepest part of Hell in which people who have committed grave sins fall into after their death.

What is the lowest level of hell?

Nine circles of Hell

  • Overview.
  • First Circle (Limbo)
  • Second Circle (Lust)
  • Third Circle (Gluttony)
  • Fourth Circle (Greed)
  • Fifth Circle (Wrath)
  • Sixth Circle (Heresy)
  • Seventh Circle (Violence)

Is there a 10th circle of Hell?

CITY OF DIS, NETHER HELL–After nearly four years of construction at an estimated cost of 750 million souls, Corpadverticus, the new 10th circle of Hell, finally opened its doors Monday.

Are there 7 or 9 circles of Hell?

Dante Alighieri’s Inferno relates Dante’s fictional journey through the nine circles of Hell, each of which represents a punishment for a specific sin.

How many hells are there in Buddhism?

In [that space between the two diamond mountain ranges] there are eight major hells. Along with each major hell are sixteen smaller hells. The first major hell is called Thoughts. The second is called Black Rope.

What Does lowest level of Buddhist hell mean?

In Buddhism, Avīci or Avici (Sanskrit and Pali for “without waves”, Chinese and Japanese: 無間地獄 Wújiàn dìyù / Mugen jigoku or 阿鼻地獄 Ābí dìyù / Abi jigoku; Burmese: အဝီစိငရဲ) is the lowest level of the Naraka or “hell” realm, with the most suffering, into which the dead who have committed grave misdeeds may be reborn.

What are the levels of Hell called?

Residing within each circle are also names and faces familiar to Dante: literary and historical figures whose fates lie within the confines of the gates of Hell. Each circle represents its own sin: not accepting Jesus Christ as savior, lust, gluttony, greed, wrath, heresy, violence, fraud, and treachery.

Who guards 6th circle?

Lesson Summary The City of Dis stands as the entrance to the lowest levels of Hell (beginning with the sixth circle), a walled fortress with a gate and towers, and is guarded by both fallen angels and the three snake-laden Furies.

What is the concept of hell?

In its archaic sense, the term hell refers to the underworld, a deep pit or distant land of shadows where the dead are gathered. From the underworld come dreams, ghosts, and demons, and in its most terrible precincts sinners pay—some say eternally—the penalty for their crimes.

Why hell is called hell?

The modern English word hell is derived from Old English hel, helle (first attested around 725 AD to refer to a nether world of the dead) reaching into the Anglo-Saxon pagan period.

What are the 9 levels of purgatory?


  • 3.1 First terrace (Pride)
  • 3.2 Second terrace (Envy)
  • 3.3 Third terrace (Wrath)
  • 3.4 Fourth terrace (Sloth)
  • 3.5 Fifth terrace (Greed)
  • 3.6 Sixth terrace (Gluttony)
  • 3.7 Seventh terrace (Lust)

What happens when you reach nirvana?

When you achieve nirvana, you stop accumulating bad karma because you’ve transcended it. You spend the rest of your life and sometimes future lives “working off” the bad karma you’ve already accumulated. Once you have fully escaped the karmic cycle, you achieve parinirvana — final nirvana — in the afterlife.

What did Buddha say about hell?

In Buddhism, there is no concept of punishment or reward and there is no divine being who decides who goes to hell or heaven. There is merely the illusory results of our thought, words and deeds, which we call karma. This is represented by the beings in the wheel nearest to the hub.

How long is Avici hell?

about 3.4 quintillion years
Avīci is sometimes cited as lasting 3.39738624×1018 or 339,738,624×1010 years, about 3.4 quintillion years. The Lotus Sutra provides an example of humans who have to endure long-term suffering in Avīci.